In English.

I love living in England. People eat fries with everything (including lasagna, soup, and pizza), everyone is too polite to say anything negative about anything so I feel like a super genius all the time, and the supermarkets make so much more sense. (I can’t describe this. It’s just true.)

However, there are a few things that baffle me:

1a) They have one-year Master’s programs.

2a) These Master’s programs run from September to September and hold their graduations in July, meaning that students complete their coursework about nine months before they don graduation robes. I know people who are deep into the first year of their PhDs and only just walking in MA graduations this week.

3) Stovetops are called “cookers,” janitorial staff are “cleaners,” and elevators are “lifts,” but it’s too informal for me to address an email with “Hello!”

4) The weather. Yesterday, it was Atlanta, Georgia in August. Today, it was Los Angeles, California in October.

5) People preparing for exams are said to be “revising.” As in, “I have a huge test tomorrow, so I can’t hang out. I need to revise.” What exactly is going to revised here? What’s being changed? Is it your brain? Are we really referring to studying as “brain restructuring”? It doesn’t make sense. It. Just. Doesn’t.

6) The metric system. I know this isn’t England’s fault. AMERICA.

7) The plumbing. The last relaxing shower I took was at the beginning of April, in a hostel in Prague. Usually, it’s a race against the hot water boiler emptying and seizing and pumping air instead of water, occasionally set to the beautiful rhythms of deep, rumbling pipe squealing.

And perhaps most upsetting of all:

8) There is no delicious Mexican food. I have a trip home planned for September, and it is going to be all burrito, all the time.

7 thoughts on “In English.

    • Haha! I really enjoy that “fanny” has an entirely different meaning here, making the “fanny pack” hysterical to me. I am desperate for good Mexican food. I might miss it more than I miss some people at home.

    • Oh I know! It’s used in the same way we use the word “studying” in the US. At home, the word “revise” is used exclusively when you want to change, edit, or restructure something. Like, “That was a terrible idea. I should revise my plan.” So, it took me a long time to understand what anyone was talking about when they mentioned revising for exams. 🙂

      • Ahh I see. I love your posts they’re amusing. I liked the one about your trip to the north east as I spend a lot of time there and going back next month for university. However, if you do go back do NOT EVER let any one here you refer to Sunderland as a smaller Newcastle

  1. Hahaha, those Brits are whacky with their words for sure. I just smile and nod my head in agreement when I have a conversation with one of them thar people. Sorry about the Mexican food dearth there. What’s up with that? No Mexicans over there? I guess I won’t tell you about the delicious Mexican dinner our family had on Saturday. So good.

    • It’s terrible. There are restaurants, but none of them are good. It’s all kidney beans (KIDNEY BEANS) and white rice. I can’t. There’s one place in a mall food court that is the equivalent to Chipotle, which is nice, I guess. But what I really miss is the heavy, fatty, saucy authentic stuff – specifically a giant bean and rice burrito covered in enchilada sauce – and that is impossible to find here.

      So no. Don’t tell me about the delicious Mexican dinner you had on Saturday. I will cry.

Discuss!

