Half Marathon Training Day 5: Progress!

So, in the interest of full disclosure and total honesty, I did not go on my scheduled run yesterday. My bones hurt and my abs ached and I was haunted by the memory of Tuesday, when I attempted to up the ante and increase my mileage, and was instead greeted with overwhelming nausea and a debilitating ab cramp. (I literally doubled over and had to hobble home.) I was discouraged and sleepy yesterday morning, so I didn’t go, and then I got to be disappointed in myself for not making the effort anyway.

This half marathon is stressing me out.

I decided that, come hell or high water, I was going running today. I got up at 6:45 am, threw my clothes and shoes on, and was out the door before I could reconsider. I ended up running 4.5 miles, which is the farthest continuous distance I have ever run. (And I’m four and a half weeks out from a 13.1 mile race. Totally going to end well.)

I’m trying to focus not on how terrifying it is that 4.5 miles impressed me, and instead on how awesome the run was. Before I started, I gave myself an out – I could take a 30 second walking break about two miles in, at a particular landmark in the park where I punish myself at 7 am. However, when I got to that landmark, I was feeling really great, so I just kept running. I did have to slow down eventually and take a small walking break, but it was about 1.5 miles past the point at which I thought I’d be destroyed.

I actually felt good in the middle of a run. I have basically won Friday, May 2nd. I’m sorry, everyone. You can try again tomorrow.

running-quotes

One thought on “Half Marathon Training Day 5: Progress!

Discuss!

