Fort Brag.

Hey! Everyone! No, EVERYONE. Gather around, because I have big news.

This is an iron that’s been in the fire for some time now, and is probably one of the major reasons my face rebelled against me recently. (Did you know that stress causes break outs? DID YOU???) It’s an opportunity that presented itself literally 24 hours after I landed in the UK, so I’ve been working to try to make it happen since my very first full day here.

Drumroll, please:

I’ve been accepted into and have been offered full funding (plus an annual stipend) for a PhD here in England! I start this fall, which is perfect timing because I will have just completed the contract on the job I currently have.

This is MAJOR, on many different levels, considering last spring, I was fully convinced I would never finish my MA and would just languish in grad school purgatory for the rest of time.

I have had the most traumatic, terrifying, embarrassing, and stressful year of my life, a year of reevaluating and admitting defeat and taking ownership of my life in ways I’ve always avoided, and yet in the midst of all of it, I’ve managed to scrape together the trappings of a pretty awesome future.

I’ve said this before and I will say it again (and again and again and again, until no one wants to talk to me anymore): anything is possible. Any. Thing. The vast majority of the time, the only person in your way is you.

Image

9 thoughts on “Fort Brag.

  1. Your words resonated with me this morning: Anything is possible. Take ownership. The only person in your way is you.

    Thanks for the encouragement, but more importantly, CONGRATS and WELL DONE.

    • Thank you! I’m so happy the post resonated with you. It makes me feel a little silly to keep saying these things, but they’ve become a bit of a mantra for me. I have to remind myself almost daily to calm down and just be grateful for all the incredible things that have happened to me.

      I used to be a real cynic. What happened to me?

  2. Congrats! I’m so excited for you! I have been meaning to comment on so many of your posts, but always find myself reading them when I don’t have the hands to type a comment. I still love reading your blog and am wishing you so much luck and success!!! Congrats again!!!

    • Thank you, thank you, thank you! I’m glad you still like it over here, despite all the depressing sadness and terrible news. Things look like they’re picking up, though! Yay for positivity! 🙂

      Also, I’ve been keeping up with your blog, but am terrible at commenting. Your girl is SO ADORABLE.

Discuss!

