It Begins!

The other day, my mother-in-law suggested that my husband and I (and all the people I know) download an app called Viber, which is essentially a Skype/AIM/text messaging hybrid that allows people to call/text between computers or smartphones for free all over the place.  She thought it would solve the communication problem I was facing: how does someone who is always connected (i.e. me) not make occasional instant contact with all the people she knows and loves?  My cell phone doesn’t have international capabilities and therefore I won’t be able to call anyone while I’m gone.  Viber allows people to send instant notifications or to make calls (with or without video) from phone to phone or from computer to phone (which is what I’ll be doing).

Late last night, when I should have been asleep, preparing for my early morning flight, the husband and I tested it out, while sitting in different rooms at home:

Screen Shot 2013-06-26 at 11.10.40 PM

Why yes, that is a seven-foot-tall bookshelf, with books stacked ON TOP OF IT. That’s how we roll.

At this point, I feel like I should be a Viber spokeswoman, because I love it so much and have convinced so many people to download it so that I can harass them with messages even from thousands of miles away.  And it’s a good thing too – because right after I discovered, with total glee, that my giant suitcase weighed 49.5 pounds (one whole half pound less than the 50 pound weight limit) and was therefore acceptable, I reached to text my husband to tell him the good news and realized I’d left my phone plugged into the charger in the car.  Excellent.  Just before jumping out onto the curb, I’d gone through a mental checklist of all the things I needed and I was so proud of myself for remembering everything.

Uh huh.  That was too good to be true.

As it is, though, I’m already at the gate, safely through security, with plenty of time to spare, and I didn’t have to totally unpack and rearrange my suitcase in order to get it checked.  So, I guess it’s worked out.

Luckily, I decided at the last minute to pack an actual camera, so I’ve covered the only thing my phone could have done that my computer can’t.  Also, one of the women working here at the gate looks exactly like this

Out Of Peekskill PRT 2

so that’s a good sign.

Okay – time to board, and spend the next six hours jammed up next to a stranger, trying to sleep!  Air travel is so luxurious.

 

3 thoughts on “It Begins!

Discuss!

