Thoughtless Thursday: Procrastination Station.

In less than one week, I leave for Ireland. I’ll be gone for six weeks. SIX WEEKS. I’ll be alone in Dublin for the first two days, then living with about thirty other people at an archaeological site for the entire month of July. (I will eventually write about where I’m going. I think I may schedule a post to publish when I’m on the plane. I just like the suspense.)

My husband, my parents, and my brother The Middle Child are flying over when my field school ends and we’re spending the sixth week all together, traveling around the perimeter of the country. I can’t wait. My husband and I have gone on exactly one other major vacation together – our honeymoon to Scotland to meet all his family – and it was, for all intents and purposes, a bit of a total disaster. So, I’m hoping this trip goes well and inspires my husband to love traveling (at least enough that he’ll come with me to Pompeii – in about ten years, when we’ve saved up enough money to go on another European vacation.)

Before I leave, I have to go buy everything I’ll need to wear to excavate/live out of the country for a month, finish my thesis research (Monday’s the last day!) and take care of a seemingly endless list of small things one has to handle before jetting off to a foreign land (alerting my banks, buying train tickets in advance, getting new contacts [for my eyes], figuring out if taking my phone is worth it, studying maps, etc). I’ve been crazy with the end of school/graduations and also a little bit in denial that this trip is actually happening, so this weekend is going to be whirlwind of prep.

Here’s what I’ve been up to while refusing to believe I’m leaving in just a few days…

Taking a child to the La Brea Tar Pits:

photo 2-2

We let her wander around by herself all morning. Obviously.

photo 4-1

I have an amazing friend who works as an excavator there, so we got to check out one of the deposits up close and personal. I got to exercise my wealth of useless knowledge by pointing out all the different bones.

photo 3-1

I found a new diamond solitaire in the gift shop. You think this is a joke, but I’ve seen some engagement rings here that could totally rival this.

Finding out, on social media of course, that The Middle Child got hit by a car while riding his bike:

photo 1-1

His face! His poor beautiful face! (He’s totally fine. Except for the face thing.)

Reading a bunch of weird crazy-person books stress-purchased from Amazon:

photo 2-1

Scientology, Fundamentalist Latter-Day Saints, space travel, the Potato Famine, and Amanda Knox’s memoir. I threw in an Ireland guidebook and some Cheryl Strayed to prove that my brain isn’t all nuts. Just like 70%.

And, of course, taking care of Baby Bird, who we’re now calling Jack – as in Jack Sparrow. I voted for Tweets, but my husband isn’t cool enough to appreciate the social commentary:

photo 3

FEED ME.

photo 1

Still just as creepy as yesterday.

 

9 thoughts on “Thoughtless Thursday: Procrastination Station.

    • Thank you! I’ve never been to Ireland, and I’m going by myself. Eeeep. I’m both excited AND insanely nervous. I’ve got two full days solo – do you have any recommendations? Must-dos???

  1. Jack Sparrow–HA!

    How’s the Amanda Knoc memoir? I was curious about that one. Also, you’re a bitch for having such a ballin’ vacation coming up. I’m jealy.

    • The memoir was good. I wouldn’t say worth buying, though – I’ll mail you my copy if you’re interested. 🙂 I had two really different reactions to it: I was really horrified that she got railroaded by the Italian press like she did, AND found her reactions, in her own words, to still be supremely bizarre.

      I AM SO NERVOUS ABOUT THIS TRIP OMG.

  2. Lucky you! I love Dublin and live in Belfast so my advice would be to pack a lot clothes because as the Irish saying goes ‘you can have all four seasons in one day’ but thankfully the weather has been good across Ireland for the last few days (bring on the torrential rain… 😉 )

Discuss!

