Operation Bleeding Heart Day 2.

In October 2008, when I was a few months out of college and working a retail job that made me feel like a total waste of space, my brother-in-law called us and offered us two week-old kittens he’d found in a garage.

346_667985469626_4115_n346_667985060446_2536_n

I jumped at the chance to escape my miserable work life and took some time off for an “emergency caregiving situation” (to this day, perhaps the biggest lie by omission I have ever told).  I spent the next several weeks mixing up kitten milk replacement formula and bottle-feeding these two gremlins

346_667985878806_7265_n

and then teaching them how to pee in a litter box and then how to lap up milk and then how to eat solid food (my husband helped, obviously, but he was gone most of the day at something called an actual job).

346_668007889696_9394_n

See? He was there.

These hand-raised monsters are the cats we still have and we have all been bonded by the trauma of raising and being raised by creatures of another species.  We adore them, and for the most part, they tolerate us.  Since we got them nearly five years ago, I’ve probably slept through eight solid hours just a handful of times.  Because this happens:

875_682510920506_4761_n

And you know what?  It’s worth it.  I’m okay with being the kind of person who would spend seven weeks nursing kittens back to health (even if, at the time, I was so stressed out about their poop schedules I didn’t shower or leave the apartment for days).

Why is this relevant (aside, of course, from the fact that it explains why I’m such a cat lady)?

Yesterday my husband found a living, breathing baby bird in the middle of our driveway, an oddly far distance from any trees.  It looks horrifying – it’s featherless and about a quarter of the size of my palm and it hasn’t opened it’s eyes yet, making it a nestling (thanks, Google!).  We scooped it up on a REI catalogue, which made itself useful for once, and brought the bird inside.

photo 1photo 2Because we found it around 7:30 pm last night and it was too late to call rescues and vets, we decided to build it a little nest and warm it up with a lamp and feed it pieces of water-logged cat food every half hour until we went to sleep, as directed by the internet.  (You know you’re a crazy person when: after discovering that your newfound just-hatched bird friend needs to be feed every half hour from sunrise until sunset, you are just relieved that at least it sleeps through the night.)

photo 4photo 3This morning, when my husband called local wildlife refuges, hoping to find a place for the little beast, they told him that all nestlings delivered to them are “humanely euthanized” …meaning we’re in it for the long haul with this creep, at least until he grows some feathers.  We are way too tree-huggy to surrender Baby Bird to certain death.

photo 5

It’s so small. And weak. And helpless. It needs us.

Hilariously, my husband hopes caring for this (mockingbird?  sparrow?) nestling will help him get over his INTENSE LIFELONG FEAR OF BIRDS.

mock3

Mockingbird fledging, from http://www.placeforwildbirds.org

Yeah.  Probably not.

23 thoughts on “Operation Bleeding Heart Day 2.

  1. Oh bless his little birdy heart. You are wonderful to take him under your wing (OMG APOLOGIES couldn’t help myself). He looks so vulnerable, I will do the biggest happy dance if he pulls through for you!

    Reminds me of this time I found an injured squirrel and tried to get him into a rescue. NOBODY TAKES SQUIRRELS, I didn’t know this. I ended up being referred to like four different volunteers until I had actually spoken to the premier squirrel expert in the Mid Atlantic region (seriously, no joke).

    Stay strong, little bird!

      • Omg my poor squirrel…. he was pretty injured so I wasn’t too worried he was going to come at me bro. He had found a little spot in a tree trunk where he was nestled and I would lovingly deliver food and milk to him. Eventually he left his little spot and the squirrel lady I was in touch with assured me they are very hearty creatures and he would make it. I hope he did!!!!

        Uhhh and there you have my squirrel story… sorry

  2. HUMANELY EUTHANIZED!? NO!

    Let me know what happens. My boyfriend found an injured bird once and nursed it back to health. We called him Feathers McTweetington. Eventually, he just flew away.

  3. Good luck! It’s so fantastic that you are doing this, I cried. (My cat is currently a bit ill, so I’m very emotionally sensitive at the moment!) Poor little featherless baby bird! S/he’s in my thoughts, and so are y’all.

    • Oh, I’m so sorry about your cat. On Tuesday, right before we found the bird, we had to take one of our cats to the vet, so emotions are running high here too. I hope everything’s okay!

      • They gave her some shots and she’s on at-home observation, but finally eating again! I hope your baby bird is doing great! I still think that’s so awesome.

  4. Maybe he likes television? You could put on Big Bird to give him some motivation to grow…

    But seriously – wishing there were more hearts like yours bleeding all over the world (gross imagery, but I still wish it).

    • His eyes are still closed (he’s basically more helpless than a fetus), but when they open, I’ll test out some TV. If he’s gonna be part of this family, he’s gonna have to learn to love it.

Discuss!

