A Few Of My Favorite Things.

One day, long, long ago, before he knew better, my husband asked me to list a few of my favorite things. Favorite movie, favorite song, favorite book. As a massive collector who probably ranked all his underwear from best to worst (I’m speculating here), my husband was horrified to discover that I don’t really have favorite things. I love the Beatles. I adore A Tree Grows In Brooklyn and Ramona (the late 1880s novel by Helen Hunt Jackson, just to clarify). I could watch and rewatch and rewatch Zoolander and When Harry Met Sally. But are these my favorite things of all time? I couldn’t say. I can’t commit to them – there are too many amazing things in the world for me to have favorites.

This permeates my life in many ways, both big and small. If you’re a regular reader (or if you are a new reader and immediately scoured the Whiny archives when you decided to follow), you’ll know that I am essentially useless at nailing down a real, solid career path, because I am fascinated by lots of things, including (but not limited to): writing, editing, digging up and analyzing dead people, and teaching five year old children. That’s a big way in which my lack of ULTIMATE FAVORITE THINGS impacts my life.

A small way I’m affected is that I don’t have tons of expensive things to my name. I don’t feel compelled to trade Disney pins or buy first edition books or collect antique furniture. I’m not particularly fulfilled by objects (cue disgusting sex joke made by all the gross people I know) and I tend to use my money for experiences – things like movies in theaters or day trips or delicious meals. This is (one of) the reason(s) I drive a 2006 Toyota that my dad and brother drove first, and why paying $400 for a hideous Louis Vuitton wallet strikes me as borderline insane. (The other reason is: money. Obviously.) I just simply cannot be asked to care about “luxury items.”

Which leads me to the point of this post: I just bought a brand new, shiny, beautiful 13-inch MacBook Air and I am in love with it. I saved up for approximately one century and had enough cash to buy it outright and also be able to afford to eat real food for the rest of the month. One point: me! I’ve needed a new computer for much longer than I am even willing to admit in this public forum (hint: about 24 months). I am unapologetic about my purchase because I really need it.

However, I’m most excited about it for one reason only: I bought it because I wanted it. I wanted it and I worked for it and I got it and I love it.

And now, for just this afternoon, I understand favorites.

969416_10102300536687856_633038195_n

23 thoughts on “A Few Of My Favorite Things.

  1. Great post! “Things” always mean so much more when you have to work hard to get them. It makes you appreciate what you have and helps to question how badly you really want it. Congrats on your new favorite thing!!

    • Thanks! I can already tell there is an obsession brewing. There is definitely more pride/terror in ownership when you buy something yourself. I’m so excited and yet so so scared to even touch it. 🙂

      • Yes, yes she is. You people that require us to think about the gift instead of going into auto mode are frustrating. All my wife has to do is ask what the latest gadget or video game is and she has me wrapped up.

  2. Exactly!! Great write! Feel entirely the same… too much stuff to have a favorite… Tough to exclude anything from the list. If there must be favorites, then EVERYTHING is my favorite thing! And yea – money? Never been a motivator, but then, having experiences – bring it! 🙂

  3. Firstly, you totally dimed me out or caught me because I was giggitying at “not particularly fulfilled by objects” lol!!

    Seriously, nobody else??!! Lol!! Screw you people!

    Anyway, the Mac is good? Wife and I are thinking about switching to a Mac laptop but know nothing about it.

    • A) I honestly almost linked to your blog after that unfulfilling objects joke. I KNEW IT.

      B) I think Macs are much more intuitive than PCs, and because I’m an idiot, I really appreciate that. This laptop (and every Mac I’ve had) works like my brain works. I know people like to say that Apple products are all design and no function, but that’s crap – they really are awesome. Just different. I bought my first MacBook in 2006 and didn’t open it for two days because switching from PC to Mac is a little scary. However, once you go Mac, you never go back. I say: do it!

  4. Welcome to the MacBook Air family! I love mine. I have a similar opinion about all this “favorite-ness” as you, but mine stems from people buying things for me. My birthday is in June, and I’m notoriously hard to shop for because I don’t like anything. I mean, anything I want, I just buy for myself. It’s strange.

    • I feel you on the birthdays/holidays. I have always, since childhood, been an impossible person to gift to. If I want it, I’ll get it. And most of the time, I don’t want anything.

      I LOVE THIS LAPTOP, by the by. LOVE IT.

  5. You’ve just become an inspiration for me! I don’t have a computer basically because I’ve had to buy them for everybody else (putting three kids through college is tough), but since one is out this year (thank God) and two are going to be out next year (thank God again), I will be saving for my mac… it’s all about planning and saving, isn’t it?

      • I haven’t had a computer since the DOS systems, I’m not even sure you know what I’m talking about. At home all my kids (except my two year old) has a computer or a tablet, or a smart phone…you name they got it. SO, before the end of the year, I will have my own very personal computer.

  6. I am exactly the same way, on the having-trouble-with-superlatives and on the preferring-experiences-to-stuff. And when I *do* save up and invest in something pricy, it’s usually something I looooooooove (and can help me have more awesome experiences). So – from someone who can relate – yay! Congrats on the shiny new MacBook & enjoy – you deserve it! 🙂

    • Thank you! I’ve been without a functioning laptop for two whole years, because I’ve been able to use my husband’s personal computer (he has a laptop furnished by his job). I probably could have just gone on cluttering his computer with a bunch of crap, and not having one to call my own, had it not been for my imminent trip to Ireland. I need this computer FOR an experience, so I figure it’s worth it. 🙂

Discuss!

