Three Years!

Today is our third wedding anniversary! On May 8, 2010, I married the man I’d met and friend-zone’d three years before. And the rest, as they say, is history. I am so, so, so very lucky to have him, as I am positive that he is the only person in the world who would put up with my particular brand of crazy. Thank you, Husband, for spending the last six years of your life promising (and always ultimately proving to) me that everything will be alright.

Happy Anniversary, love!

Cue obnoxious, self-indulgent photo break:

SarahLukeWeddingBG-096 SarahLukeWeddingBG-046 72995_10100211133478636_5990611_n

215108_10100466082473806_4052582_n

Incidentally, although serving the ancillary purpose of legally binding me to the love of my life, my wedding was also the catalyst of my very first brush with internet fame. Our wedding was featured on Style Me Pretty, almost entirely due to the fact that we had Marianne Wilson as our photographer and she is pretty spectacular. (My husband and I had dinner with Marianne and her husband Joe last week, and I went full fangirl on them, which was embarrassing. I am in awe of them because I am obsessed with people with real talent and passion. Perhaps because I like to live vicariously? If you ever find yourself getting engaged and/or married in Los Angeles, contact them. Their work is fabulous.)

In rereading that Style Me Pretty feature this afternoon, I realized that in the blurb I sent them about our wedding, I spelled the word “chuppah” phonetically, meaning that I spoke eloquently about how much our ceremonial Jewish “HOOPA,” complete with my late great-grandmother’s best tablecloth, meant to us. Such an embarrassment. Always.

17 thoughts on “Three Years!

  1. Happy anniversary! Michael and I got married 3 years ago in October, as well as two friends of mine, so it seems 2010 was a popular year to get married. Hope you’ve had a lovely day 🙂

    • I know lots of people with 2010 wedding dates too – I loved the roundness of the number, because I’m a weirdo.
      It’s popularity makes me feel a little less bizarre. 🙂

    • Ooooh, happy anniversary in advance! I can’t believe it’s already been three years. Sometimes I still can’t believe I’m married in the first place.

Discuss!

