Freshly Pressed.

Ladies and gentlemen, I am pleased to announce that today, I became an actual famous person.  I did it – I was Freshly Pressed!  Between this and the modeling, I just may quit my job.  (Not really.  Like, not at all really.  People at my job: NOT REALLY.)

Because I have a reputation to uphold, I was going to post something snarky and self-deprecating about the post WordPress selected to put front and center.  I was going to go on and on about how it was a post I wrote quickly when I was upset and how I don’t even think it makes a lot of cohesive sense and how if I’d known it was going to be broadcast so far and so wide, I would have written it much better.  However, that is the plight of those of us writing in obscurity – you never know when you may be plucked out of it, even just for a day.

And now that I have been highlighted, ever so briefly, I figure I shouldn’t waste the opportunity being a sarcastic monster, especially because the topic I explored in the post, while relatively new to (and perhaps poorly presented on) this blog, is one that has followed me my entire life.

Simply put: I know a thing or two about overcoming self-esteem issues and am overwhelmed by the response generated by Bikini Body.  What I thought was a flippant, poorly written post about how I just wanted to eat some sugar in peace ended up being a sounding board for women (and men) who feel shame and discomfort and judgment about their bodies and their eating habits every day.

The volume of response is both amazing and upsetting.  I am so happy that we all have a community here in which to connect and share and (hopefully) be supported.  And, in a very Pollyanna way, I hope this online community is a microcosm for the vast supportive networks that exist in the real world – maybe at schools or churches or coffee shops.  Conversely, I am incensed all over again that we live in a society that values the way someone looks or the way someone eats over the way someone acts or the way someone is.

Some people have pointed out that advocating a high-sugar diet is unhealthy, and I could not agree more.  I cannot pretend to be a great nutritional example: I’ve been a vegetarian for eighteen years and there are still nights that I fill up on carbohydrates because, quite frankly, it’s easier than making real food.  There are times when I’ve eaten so poorly that I can almost feel my bones turning into dust, like when I survived quarters of graduate school on Diet Coke and Snickers bars.  However, I’m at peace with that.  I own that sometimes I eat like crap.  And that does not have any bearing on my worth as a person.

The point I was trying to make in the Pressed Post is that people should consume food – food should not consume people.  I am a firm believer that if we could remove stigma from food, we’d all be a lot healthier, mentally and physically.

And to the young women, the teenagers, who have spoken out here today, I absolutely must tell you that you will get better with age.  And I am not referring at all to your outsides.  You will get more confident, more hilarious, more self assured, and less anxious as you pass out of your teenage and high school years and start finding your own real, true place in the world.  I could not have felt less important or interesting or desirable in high school.  Now, in my old age, I feel like a genuine badass.  I am a genuine badass.  And it has nothing to do with who has chosen me.  It has everything to do with who I have chosen.

Thank you all for liking and commenting and sharing the post and sharing with me.  I am going to respond to every single comment (tomorrow morning, when my brain is functional again).  I am so grateful for all the support and am terrified by all the new followers.  I hope you came for the fleeting philosophy and choose to stick around for the permanent idiocy.

Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Now go eat some cookies.

20 thoughts on “Freshly Pressed.

  1. I don’t understand why, when some people refuse to judge people no matter what they’re size, others (perhaps some health nuts?) interpret that action as giving overweight people carte blanche to continue eating whatever they want and as much as they want. As someone who has struggled with being overweight all my life (and being bullied as a child because of it), I can say firsthand that the judgmental attitudes of those who look down on or ostracize heavy people do not encourage us to lose weight. A fat person does not want to do something healthy for herself if she hates herself, and that’s exactly what happens when we tease, shun, or chastise someone who’s overweight.

    Ok, rant over! 🙂 Congrats on getting Freshly Pressed!

    • Exactly. Committing to freeing yourself from agonizing over “bad foods” is not at all the same thing as advocating unhealthy behavior. And honestly, regardless, I don’t believe people need my permission or acceptance to eat whatever they want. My life credo: be healthy, be happy, eat. Oh, and don’t be a dick about it. (That last tenet seems to be the hardest for most people.)

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting! I love your blog – just spent some fabulous quality time reading it. 🙂

  2. Love the follow up!! I knew what you meant. And, you had so many comments that I could not possibly read them all, so sorry if my comment was repetitive. I’m a new follower, but don’t be scared. 😉

    • Oh no, I loved your comment! It hit upon one of the reasons I was nervous that that post got Freshly Pressed – it wasn’t a super detailed piece and there is SO MUCH MORE I could say about eating and health and all the many ways I can improve.

      I’m very happy to have you as a new follower! I just hope you like reading about cats and babies, because that’s mostly what goes on around here.

  3. I love your post! I think it’s better that you didn’t know it was going to be Freshly Pressed when you wrote it, or it’d have skewed what you were going to write. The original post was 100% what you wanted to say 🙂 I’ve always struggled with my weight because I have Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome, but this wasn’t diagnosed until I was 17 so I spent my teenage years thinking I was overweight because of me, and not the medical condition I had. This led to me feeling like everyone was watching “the fat person” eat food I didn’t deserve so I’d eat in secret. A habit that took me over 10 years to get over so that I could finally eat in public without feeling paranoid of being judged. Thanks for posting, I can’t wait for more posts 🙂

    • Thank you! I find it so upsetting that people feel they have the right to monitor and/or judge the personal choices other people make, especially when it comes to food. I’m so happy that you are confident now. I had terrible acne for six years as a teenager, and if I’d known then how freeing it would be not to care what people thought about me and my appearance, it would have made such a huge difference in my life experience. Above all else, you have to love yourself.

Discuss!

