Friend-Zone Giveaway!

I have been toying with the idea of doing a giveaway for a while.  I have just been waiting for the perfect moment, and, ladies and gentlemen, this is it.

It struck me as I was telling The Husband about the (relative) success of my post about him and his epic mix CDs that it might be fun to offer up the three-volume musical collection to a reader who has someone to woo.  Super cute, no?  I mean, these mixes got through to me, and I’m pretty much an idiot.  They’re magical!  They’re the engagement chicken of iTunes!

The idea of this three-disc giveaway was really exciting for the five minutes before my inner Eeyore trotted in to remind me that it’s probably (read: absolutely) against the law to burn a bunch of copyrighted material onto CDs and then give it away like I’m working the t-shirt cannon at a basketball game.  Unfortunately for everyone, I can count on one finger the number of people who would a) actually have this thought and b) be so terrified of copyright law laying the smack down that she’d abort Mission: Giveaway, and that one person is me.

So, I apologize.  I’m too much of a straight arrow to give away three burned CDs.  (I mean, the risks are just too high.  I don’t have time for civil court!)  You probably didn’t know this about me, but not rebelling at all IS my rebellion.  (I attended high school in California within the last fifteen years.  I have mastered the art of the straight edge.)

I was feeling really terrible about not being able to follow through with my genius plan until I realized I could do you all one better: I am giving away a copy of The Neville Brothers’ 20th Century Masters album.  The Nevilles have played a pretty large part in the soundtrack of my married life (why yes, I am aware of how weird that is), and I want to share the wealth,

6736156

because if you have not heard The Neville Brothers sing “Bird On A Wire,” you have not lived.  Let me know in the comments how you hope this CD will change your life, and I will select a lucky winner at random at noon (Pacific time) on Saturday April 6th.

In the meantime, The Husband has granted me permission to post the mix CD playlists.  You’ll know he’s a romantic when you see that he’s included “Lick My Love Pump” and “Paradise By The Dashboard Light.”

Here is Volume 1, which according to my husband, is the how you “ease into it”:

Picture 2

Volume 2, “The Interlude”:

Picture 3

Volume 3, “The Deal Sealer”:

Picture 4

Perhaps the greatest thing about these three mixes, greater even than their contribution to the beginning of our relationship, is that while I initially thought they were tailor-made for me, my husband has used the same collections of songs to make playlists for just about everything he’s ever done.  I felt so special when I found that out.

12 thoughts on “Friend-Zone Giveaway!

  1. Nothing says love like some Cotton Eyed Joe! I’d hope the Neville Brothers would change my life because I’d like to think that after listening to the whole album, that I’d vow never to waste 45 minutes out of my life killing my brain slowly ever again! Well, unless it’s with alcohol, but that’s different.

    • No – just really, really unlucky. 🙂 Aaron Neville has the most intense vibrato in the history of man. Our love for him started as a joke and then morphed into something real.

Discuss!

