Isn’t It Ironic?

The title of this post makes me very anxious, because despite believing I am an incredible wordsmith and a fairly smart person, the amount of public outrage still lobbed at Alanis Morissette over her “misuse” of “ironic” in her 1996 hit single makes me really nervous to use the word in print.  Case in point.  (That linked article was written in 2008, a full twelve years after the song’s release, and all those years later, someone was still happy to take Alanis to task and talk about what a total idiot she is.  Wonderful.)  In preparation for writing this, I did a bunch of reading on the interwebs about irony and all it’s many definitions and now my brain is melted and I’m wondering how I managed to graduate from college.

Suffice to say, I was going to write about how ironic it is that after experiencing gorgeous 80* days all weekend, it is pouring freezing rain all over Los Angeles these first few days we’re trying to keep the dog outside, but I’ve since learned that this is not ironic – it is just miserable, inconvenient timing.

And now, I’ve turned a post about what a total genius I am into a declaration that I am, in fact, a total dunce, when all I really want is for people to like me and think I’m amazing.  Isn’t it ironic?

Yeah, I really do think.

6861665259_55b341be24_z

2 thoughts on “Isn’t It Ironic?

  1. I remember freshman year of high school I had a student teacher for honors English, and he used that song to teach us about irony. We had to make a list of all the examples of irony we found in the song. …I’ve always hated it since that first time I heard it.

Discuss!

