Kids Say.

I’ve said it before and I will say it again: working with children is the hardest, most fulfilling job I’ve ever had.  And I’ve worked in a ton of different environments, at times literally digging trenches in the rain.  (Maybe I’ll make “My (Literal) Odd Jobs” a weekly feature.  I would be able to run that for weeks.  I have had that many jobs.)  Teaching children is still the most exhausting and the most encouraging thing I’ve ever done.  It is also obviously the cutest.

photo 2

The kids are okay too, I guess.

Fridays are usually the best days, and today did not disappoint.

I played Angry Birds with a boy in my class who is a veritable digital pig-blasting expert,

How incredibly genius is this???

How incredibly genius is this???

facilitated an afternoon Owl City/Wreck-It-Ralph dance party, complete with dress-up costumes, stage lights and Crayola “markerphones,”

Note that this song is on repeat.  I never want to hear it again.

Note that this song is on repeat. I never want to hear it again.

and had the following conversation:

Five-Year-Old Child: “And he has his own cell phone.  That actually makes calls.”

Me: “He sounds like a pretty interesting guy.”

Five-Year-Old Child: “I wouldn’t go that far.”

 

If children are the future, it looks pretty hysterical.

7 thoughts on “Kids Say.

    • The children I know are the funniest people in my life. I think their complete lack of self-consciousness and/or any ability to filter allows them a unique, hilarious honesty. It’s fantastic.

Discuss!

