Love You.

I am married to the love of my life, my best friend and the only person in the world I want my children to look like and look up to.  (Sidebar: I just recently watched “It’s a Wonderful Life” for the first time, and there’s a scene in the movie in which George is asking his wife if she really loves him and she says, “I want my baby to look just like you.”  I know exactly what you mean, Mary.)  I knew the moment I saw him for the first time that he was the one for me, despite the fact that I was a 20-year-old crazy person who had had approximately zero spiritual revelations before.  Had I not been so young, and still a junior in college, we probably would be one of those obnoxious couples who got married after dating for 72 hours and then never shut up about it.  However, I do not have a flawless relationship.  I am a human being and, at times, a nutcase.

 I think, at the end of my life, the hardest and best thing I will have ever done is get married.  (Granted, I haven’t had children yet or been to Pompeii, so I’ll let you know how I feel as things develop.)  Getting married to my husband was the biggest, most exciting (and ultimately, the easiest) decision I’ve yet to make.  Being married to my husband is glorious and hilarious and truly better every day.  It is also the most challenging thing in my life, because to be married is to strive to be your best self for your best friend for the rest of your life.  There are times when you will nail this and feel like a champion and there will be times, like last night for me, when you will fail miserably and feel defeated.  The wonder of marriage is that if both parties are willing, the defeats, in time, become monuments to your love and determination get over yourselves.
And, luckily, I am madly in love with my husband and am determined to get over myself.
SarahLukeWeddingBG-106
2 thoughts on “Love You.

  1. When did you two get married? I thought I was never going to get married (didn’t want to), or date someone for a loooooong time before tying the knot. Then PB came around and I wanted to marry HIM. He was my husband, it just felt right from the start.
    Which is cheesy and I don’t mention it often, but this was a lovely post 🙂

  2. Thanks! 🙂 I don’t talk about the “knowing” a lot either because most people think I’m making it up. We got married in May 2010, on the third anniversary of our first date. We are the ultimate cheeseballs.

Discuss!

