Giving Thanks.

After Thanksgiving dinner tonight, my grandpa pulled me aside and palmed me a check for $200, because I made the mistake a few weeks ago of telling him I was happy to be working again so that I could pay off debts I incurred during grad school.  I should know by now never to even hint at using money to pay for things.  I tried to give it back to him, but he refused.  He told me to take the gift because “my window is closing and yours is just opening.”  It was at this point that I escaped upstairs and lost my shit in a locked bathroom, overwhelmed with the kindness of my grandparents and my incredible luck to have them in my life.

I have no words for how much I love them or how grateful I am for all they have given me (my only trips out of the country pre-honeymoon, my first car, oh and the twenty-six years of hilarious, constant, unwavering support and encouragement) and there are times, like tonight, when it hits me that this is not only hugely rare, but that it is also not forever.  I will not always have these people to tell dirty jokes with and drink Long Island iced teas with and tell stories to and ask advice from.  This is, among other things, one of the reasons I decided to start trying to have a baby much earlier than I ever thought I would – I need my children to know my favorite people in the world.  Hopefully, some of their excellence will rub off on the babies.

Thank you, Universe, for giving me such remarkable role models.  I am forever grateful.

A Picture of Dorian Dave, my 79-year-old, totally ageless, grandfather.

Discuss!

