Librarium.

My husband is a children’s librarian, a freelance graphic designer and one of the most creative people I’ve ever known.  I so envy his ability to write, draw, analyze and problem solve.  He can take any task given to him (organization, design, editing, presentation, etc.  The list is infinite) and make it astounding.  His ultimate goal is to write and illustrate children’s books, and I know with more certainty than I’ve ever known anything that he will accomplish that goal.  He’s just that awesome.

The library (or, as normal people call it, “the second bedroom”).

He’s also a hoarder.  Of literature.  And literature accoutrements.  That photo up there is of but one wall of the second bedroom.  I’ve also not included photos of the book shelves in our bedroom, living room or garage.  (The garage has a six foot tall shelf devoted almost entirely to cookbooks.)  On Friday night, my husband came home from work with a “surprise” – a bona fide, four-shelf  library cart, the color of something you’d see in a sanitarium.

The cart. Already in use.

It is a dream realized for him to have a library cart in his house – I think because someday we both hope to have a library big enough to require one.  I told him it would make a fabulous book display if he’d let me paint it.  He said yes and we all lived happily ever after.  (I actually really love it.  However, in a bungalow house that is, according to Zillow.com, 781 square feet, we are already packed to the gills.  I have no idea where we’re going to store a legit library cart.)

In an effort to make this weekend a weekend of dream fulfillment, we finally made it out to a hiking trail near our house I discovered by accident about a year ago (and by accident I mean I got lost and stumbled across it).  We brought the dog with us and had a fabulous time.  I grew up within walking distance to a Santa Monica Mountain trailhead, so the landscape is very near to my heart.  We’re going to try to make it a weekly tradition.

The trail’s highest point, looking out over the San Fernando Valley. The only time I’ve ever thought the Valley looked awesome.

So gorgeous.

We were out for about an hour and a half and it was really beautiful.  However, right now, my body feels like it is shredded.  I guess going from zero physical activity to 90 minute power hike through the mountains can do that to a person.

Finally, I want to apologize for making this more of a personal blog and less of a conception blog.  Hopefully I’m still interesting.  There’s just not much to discuss in terms of baby making at the moment, aside from the fact that I have still yet to get a period and am still intermittently cramping.  That makes about two months since my last Provera-induced period and Clomid ovulation.  I can’t decide if taking a pregnancy test would ease my nerves or just make me feel really broken and stupid when it came out negative.  And, actually, I’m kinda enjoying not worrying about it for a little while.  This is what I wanted it to be before my doctor and I immediately jumped to the medication.

Unfortunately, this never-knowing thing feeds into what has become my biggest fear: that I’ll end up having a baby on the toilet because I Didn’t Know I Was Pregnant.

One thought on “Librarium.

Discuss!

