Modeling.

I work with five-year-olds at a developmental kindergarten, so I’m often faced with situations that force me to model good behavior.  (For instance, when confronted with a sad, gross or annoying scenario in my adult life, my first instinct is to get as far away from it as possible.  As a teacher, I must confront the issues and work them out, which is hard work, even if the issues are simply that someone has been beaned in the head by a hula hoop or that the children have decided to use paint and paint brushes to “wash” bicycles.)  Anyway, my point is that when I’m caught modeling this good behavior by other adults (usually visitors to the school), people say things like, “You are going to be such a good mom!” as if no one else would dane to calmly help a little boy who has thrown up everywhere without making him feel bad about it. Most of the time, I’m just being a good human being – treating others how I’d want to be treated, sharing, empathizing, making sure my friends are okay and having fun.  That will probably make me a good mom, but it always strikes me how many people seem to be astounded by witnessing simple kindnesses.  Perhaps that’s what is wrong with the world.

Seriously.

Discuss!

