A Quarter Plus.

Today was a few things:

1) The fourth day of my Clomid dose.

2) My first day back at school as a teacher since I bailed on having job prospects to go to an esoteric grad program.

3) My 26th birthday!

It was also 90 degrees with one billion percent humidity today, so that was crazy.

I had a bunch of really artistic photographs of my Clomid medication saved on my phone and had been meaning to post them here for about three days (and kept getting distracted by family visits and work and melting into a puddle of sweat and steam), and then I very unceremoniously deleted them today after forgetting that I did not, in fact, already email them to myself.  Gah.  They would have been such great visual aids.  Just pretend you’re looking at a picture of five little white pills all in a row in some foil packaging.  Because that’s exactly what it looks like.

My doctor prescribed me 100mg a day, taken as two 50mg pills at bedtime (supposedly because taking the medication at night means you sleep through the vicious headaches and nausea that some people experience).  Because I can never experience anything in life without googling it for hours, I decided it might be a good plan to look up some Clomid side effects, which is how I stumbled onto some “Clomid twins” comment threads and then had a proper meltdown.  I’d obviously been aware that the chance of multiples is slightly higher than normal when you take a (however low grade) fertility drug.  The percentage increase is touted as minimal – a few percentage points at most.  However, when you’ve just read 22 pages of comments written by people who took 50mg of Clomid (a lower dose than I’m on, mind you) for just one month and ended up with at least two (if not three!) babies, the statistics appear to be a little skewed.  I panicked.  Especially after I read a post by a woman who said, and I’m paraphrasing because I don’t know exactly where in the internet rabbit hole I read this, that the calculation of the standard 8-10% chance of Clomid twins actually includes all the people who don’t get pregnant using the drug.  Meaning: of every single person prescribed Clomid, including those for whom it doesn’t work, 8-10% will have twins.  Then, this commenter said that the actual number of twins, when the percentages are calculated using just people who have gotten pregnant using it, is closer to 100% (okay, she may have said 80%, but I read it as YOU WILL HAVE QUADRUPLETS).  Intellectually, I know that can’t be right, but the thought sends shivers down my spine.

I’ve spent the last couple days sending Fertile Myrtle text messages like, “I wonder if it would totally ruin my life if I had twins?  Would my life be over?”

I also have “Gangham Style” by Psy stuck in my head.  If you haven’t seen the video yet, go directly to YouTube and check it out.  It is incredible.

Despite being convinced I will become my neighborhood’s Octomom (and nurturing a growing love for K-Pop), I had a pretty fantastic birthday.  Everyone at work was wonderful and my husband (who works across the street) delivered some lunch and a giant bouquet of flowers to me, which was amazing.  I have eaten my weight in vegetarian Indian food, gotten tons of cards and calls and texts, and was presented with a trip to San Diego from the husband, who is really scoring tons of points right now.

I wonder if I’ll still feel so lucky when I get pregnant with triplets.

2 thoughts on “A Quarter Plus.

  1. I love this. Also, when I lived in LA, I worked in Korea town and became obsessed with k-pop and Korean dramas. You should definitely get into those next. Oh and I’ve known several women on clomid and they all gave birth to just one healthy child. But twins could be kinda fun. You can put them to work early in the entertainment industry.

  2. Haha! If I had twins in Los Angeles, definitely the entertainment industry.

    I would obviously be happy with any healthy kids we had, but I once babysat two nine-month-old babies at the same time and it was one of the most stressful things I’ve ever done. (I exaggerate a lot, but it was truly terrifying.) One was always awake. So. Crazy. Also, I lived in Koreatown for about a year and somehow missed all of this. Making up for lost time!

Discuss!

